2000: The new Chinese authorities in Macau grant three licenses to run casinos. They are given to Sheldon Adelson, Steve Wynn, and Stanley Ho.
Kirk Kerkorian’s MGM Corporation purchases the Mirage Corporation and all its properties—including the Golden Nuggets of Las Vegas and Laughlin, the Mirage, and the Bellagio.
The new Aladdin Casino opens in Las Vegas.
A casino opens in the Virgin Islands, the first since casinos were approved by voters in 1995.
California voters approve Proposition 1A, which allows Native American casinos, with some regulations and limits. The ban on player-banked games in California is lifted.
2001: New York State authorizes slot machines for racetracks as well as casinos for
Native American lands.
Sweden authorizes the establishment of government-run casinos.
2003: Voters in Maine approve slot machines for racetracks.
North Dakota legislature approves state participation in the multistate Powerball lottery.
2004: Sheldon Adelson opens the Sands Macau casino.
Pennsylvania authorizes slot machine gambling for fourteen casinos, seven attached to
Oklahoma voters authorize compacts for Native American casinos.
2005: The MGM-Mirage corporation purchases Mandalay (formerly Circus Circus)
Resorts. Harrah’s purchases the Caesars Entertainment group of casinos.
Voters in South Florida approve slot machines for racetracks.
2006: Congress passes the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act.
Steve Wynn opens the Wynn Macau resort.
Russia passes legislation confining casinos to four remote areas of the country.
2007: A referee for games played in the National Basketball Association pleads guilty
to betting on games in which he participated.
The Venetian Macau opens, operated by Sheldon Adelson’s Sands Corporation.
Kansas passes a law permitting “government-owned” but privately operated casinos.
2008: Maryland voters approve a plan to put 15,000 slot machines at racetracks and
other venues. Massachusetts bans dog racing.
2009: Voters in Ohio approve four casinos to be located in Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, and Toledo.

No comments:

Post a Comment